Why Get a Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
Virginia may be on its way to fully legalizing recreational marijuana, but for those interested in using marijuana for medical reasons it’s still always a good idea to get an actual medical card. The 3 main reasons why you would want to get a Virginia medical card are:
- Protection Under State Law. The card will allow you to legally possess and consume medical marijuana products within the state of Virginia.
- Access to Dispensaries. The card will allow you to purchase medical marijuana products from any licensed dispensary within the state of Virginia and any state that offers reciprocity. Virtually ALL forms will be available including flower, pills, oil, topicals, tinctures, liquids and more!
- Ongoing Patient Care. As a cardholder you will be able to receive ongoing support and treatment assistance through our provider and staff, as well as through the budtenders at the dispensaries. Together we will ensure that you are receiving the most effective treatment possible using Medical Marijuana.
Am I Eligible to Get a Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
We have gathered all the information from the state that you need to make it easy to find out if you qualify. You can also call or text our Contact Center at 240-356-1000 for more information. We are available 7 days a week from 9am-9pm!
What are the Qualifying Conditions to get approved for Medical Marijuana in Virginia?
Any medical condition may qualify. Some of the more common conditions that Virginia patients are qualifying for include:
- Anxiety and Depression
- Crohn’s disease
- Chronic or intractable pain
- Epilepsy and seizure disorders
- Hepatitis C
- HIV / AIDS
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Sickle cell anemia
- Terminal illness
How Do I Obtain a Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
We make obtaining your card easy! It basically comes down to just 2 steps:
- Schedule an appointment with our Licensed Virginia Medical Marijuana Doctor to obtain your Written Certification Form.
- Register with the State as a patient and Submit your Application Online.
If you qualify, our doctor will issue the signed written certification form immediately so that you can get registered with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy and submit the application for your medical card. If you need help getting registered, our support center is available 7 days per week at 240-356-1000 for assistance.
Is Approval by the Medical Marijuana Doctor guaranteed?
Only a licensed medical marijuana doctor can determine if you qualify for the program, so we cannot guarantee your approval. However, if you do not get approved by our doctor you will receive a FULL refund! Our knowledgeable and friendly support staff is ready to help get you fully prepared for your appointment so that you have the best chance of approval, just give us a call at 240-356-1000 if you would like to know more.
When Can I register with the State to Obtain my Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
The Virginia Board of Pharmacy medical marijuana registry is currently open and accepting new applications. This means that you can now register with the state of Virginia as a medical marijuana patient to obtain your card. The first step is to get certified by a Virginia licensed medical marijuana doctor.
How long does it take to get approved and to receive my Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
It can take 7-14 days to receive the electronic copy of your Virginia medical marijuana card once you have submitted your application online to the Board of Pharmacy.
What is the total cost to obtain my Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
The evaluation fee to see our medical marijuana doctor is $200 for an online Telemedicine consultation, payable by credit or debit. While some other doctors in the state require you to come back for multiple follow up visits within the year, we only require you to be evaluated once per year to remain certified. The re-certification fee to follow up with our doctor is $150 each year and the annual state application fee is $50.
Will Insurance cover any costs associated with obtaining the Virginia Medical Marijuana card?
Insurance programs unfortunately do not cover any costs related to obtaining your medical marijuana card due to conflicts with Federal Law. Our online Telemedicine consultations as well as the state application fee are payable by credit or debit only.
Where Can I Purchase Medical Marijuana Once I Obtain my Virginia Medical Card?
Virginia medical marijuana cardholders will be able to purchase products from any licensed dispensary within the state of Virginia, as well as at dispensaries in other states that offer reciprocity for Virginia medical cards. The Board of Pharmacy has assigned five “Health Service Areas” throughout the state, each of which will have their own dispensary. Four of these are currently open, to find out more visit our dispensary locations page.
What Forms of Medical Marijuana will be available to purchase?
Virtually all forms of medical marijuana will be available for purchase at state-licensed dispensaries EXCEPT for raw marijuana flower. Permitted medical marijuana products include vape cartridges, capsules, gummies, oils, topicals, tinctures, dermal patches, and more.
How much Medical Marijuana will I be able to purchase as a Virginia cardholder?
Virginia medical marijuana cardholders will be able to purchase and possess up to a 90-day supply of medical marijuana products, as determined by their certifying medical marijuana doctor and licensed medical dispensaries.
How much will Medical Marijuana cost at Virginia dispensaries?
The pricing for medical marijuana products will be determined by individual dispensaries, so at this point we do not have a definitive answer regarding how much they will cost. Patients will not have a set amount they must purchase and will be able to go to dispensaries to purchase products as needed, which makes the cost of obtaining medical marijuana flexible.
Will insurance cover the cost of the Medical Marijuana at Virginia dispensaries?
Unfortunately, no. Insurance programs do not cover medical marijuana products due to conflicts with Federal Law. Dispensaries typically accept cash only but it does vary, so we recommend contacting individual dispensaries directly to find out more.
Can I grow Medical Marijuana as a cardholder in Virginia?
Not at this time. Patients will have to purchase their medical marijuana products from licensed dispensaries within the state of Virginia or at dispensaries in other states that offer reciprocity.
Can I use my Virginia Medical Marijuana Card in other Medical States?
Possibly. Reciprocity laws differ from state to state, but if another state’s medical marijuana Program is similar enough to Virginia’s then they may accept Virginia medical cards at dispensaries within their state. The best way to find out is by contacting a dispensary that will be near you in the state you are interested in visiting.
Will anyone be able to find out that I have obtained my Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
No, as a medical patient you are protected by HIPAA. We make the privacy and security of our patients’ confidential information a top priority. No one will be able to find out your status as a medical marijuana patient unless you openly tell them or if you are administered a drug screening.
Can My Employer Still Administer a Marijuana Drug Screening If I am a Virginia Medical cardholder?
Yes. There is not currently any legislation in place that provides medical marijuana patients protection in the workplace from either receiving drug screenings or receiving disciplinary action regarding the results of a drug screening. For this reason, we recommend making sure you are fully aware of your employer’s policy regarding drug screenings and medical marijuana before moving forward with the process.
Can I Still Get a Virginia Medical Card If I’m on Probation or Parole?
The Board of Pharmacy does not have any restrictions regarding patients on probation or parole, however, you must get permission from your probation or parole officer first before pursuing a medical marijuana card.
What is a Registered Agent when it comes to Medical Marijuana in Virginia?
A registered agent, often known as a “caregiver” in many other medical states, is an individual at least 21 years of age who is designated to be able to purchase medical marijuana products from dispensaries on behalf of a qualified patient. Patients under the age of 18 are required to have a registered agent. Registered agents can purchase on behalf of up to two patients.
How do I become a Registered Agent for Medical Marijuana in the state of Virginia?
Those interested in becoming a registered agent for a Virginia medical marijuana patient must register with the state and pay the $25 application fee. The annual renewal fee is also $25.